Urologie Zehlendorf

Preventative medical check-ups


Cancers in the early stages do not usually cause any problems! Preventative medical check-ups are a wise investment into one’s own health: in some cases it can save your life!
With as little inconvenience and worry as possible the preventative medical check-up should provide a clear a picture as possible about the presence of a malignant illness.

Ranking of the most common cancers in men

  1. The most common cancer of a man in Europe is prostate cancer
  2. Lung cancer, until now had first place
  3. Malignant diseases of the gastro-intestinal tract: colon cancer, rectum cancer and stomach cancer
  4. The bladder carcinoma
  5. The malignant tumour of the kidney

From these most common cancers four alone are found by urologists and three – prostate, bladder and kidney cancer – can be completely self-treated!

The legal preventative medical check-up takes these findings into account. Therefore the “feeling” of the prostate as well as a stool sample analysis is covered by the public health insurance companies. Through this feeling, however, only ten percent of possible carcinomas are discovered!

A scientifically based check-up also includes further tests. An important factor in the preventative medical check-up with regard the carcinoma of the prostate is the establishing of the PSA value (prostate-specific antigen) as well as the trans-rectal prostate ultrasound.

The combination of these tests has led to the discovery of almost 90 percent of prostate cancers in Germany while they are still curable.

Exyamination with the finger, i.e. rectal palpation of the prostate has a success rate of only ten percent.
Carcinoma of the lungs cannot be diagnosed by a preventative medical check-up. Theoretically, regular CT-scans (computerized tomography) need to be carried out to discover carcinomas when they are still curable. As this includes being subject to high doses of radiation, regular check-ups themselves would probably lead to lung cancer after 20 years.

Magnetic resonance tomography (MRI) is not perfectly suited for testing the lungs. The imaging takes so long that most of the patients are not able to hold their breath for as long as is needed – one and a half minutes. Breathing causes a distortion of the image which then cannot be properly interpreted by the doctor.

Urologie Zehlendorf
labor

Vorsorgeuntersuchungen


Krebserkrankungen in frühen Stadien verursachen meist keine Beschwerden! Vorsorgeuntersuchungen sind hier eine sinnvolle Investition in die eigene Gesundheit: Schlimmstenfalls können sie Leben retten.

Mit möglichst wenig Aufwand und ohne Belastung soll durch die Vorsorgeuntersuchung eine möglichst eindeutige Aussage über das Vorliegen einer bösartigen Erkrankung erbringen.

Rangfolge der häufigsten Krebserkrankungen beim Mann

1. Die häufigste Krebserkrankung des Mannes in Europa ist der Prostatakrebs

2. Lungenkrebs, der bisherige langjährige Spitzenreiter

3. Bösartige Erkrankungen des Magen-Darm-Traktes: Dickdarmkrebs, Rektumkrebs und Magenkrebs

4. Das Harnblasenkarzinom

5. Der bösartige Tumor der Niere

Von diesen fünf häufigsten Krebserkrankungen werden allein vier von Urologen erkannt und drei – Prostata-, Blasen- und Nierenkrebs – auch in eigener Verantwortung komplett behandelt!

Die gesetzliche Vorsorgeuntersuchung berücksichtigt diese Erkenntnisse. Deshalb wird die Tastung der Prostata sowie eine Stuhlprobe von den gesetzlichen Krankenkassen übernommen. Durch die Tastung werden allerdings nur zehn Prozent der möglichen Karzinome erkannt!

Eine nach wissenschaftlichen Gesichtspunkten fundierte Untersuchung beinhaltet darüber hinaus weitere Untersuchungen. Dazu zählen bei der Vorsorgeuntersuchung im Hinblick auf in Prostatakarzinom die Bestimmung des PSA-Wertes (Prostataspezifisches Antigen) sowie die transrektale Prostatasonografie.

Die Kombination dieser Untersuchungsmöglichkeiten hat dazu geführt, dass heute fast 90 Prozent der Prostatakarzinome in Deutschland in heilbarem Stadium erkannt werden.

Die alleinige Tastung der Prostata ergab dagegen nur ein Trefferquote von etwa zehn Prozent.

Das Lungenkarzinom ist durch eine Vorsorgeuntersuchung nicht zu diagnostizieren. Theoretisch müssten regelmäßiger Computertomografien durchgeführt, um Karzinome im frühen heilbaren Stadium zu entdecken. Da dies mit einer erheblichen Strahlenbelastung einhergeht, würde die regelmäßige Untersuchung über gut 20 Jahre wahrscheinlich selbst zu einem Lungenkarzinom führen.

Die Kernspintomografie (Nukleäre Magnetresonanztomografie oder auch MRT) ist für die Untersuchung der Lunge noch nicht perfekt geeignet. Der Bildaufbau dauert so lange, dass die meisten Patienten in der Regel nicht in der Lage sind, eine entsprechend lange Zeit – anderthalb Minuten – die Luft anzuhalten. Durch dieses Einatmen kommt es zu sogenannten Überlangerungsphänomenen, die eine Bildinterpretation durch den Arzt nicht mehr gestatten.